Homosapien.

Pete Shelley’s Homosapien popped on my i-tunes shuffle tonight reminding me of two things: (1) the days prior t i-tunes and my itinerant grad school career when I had records and (2) Homosapien is a goood album. Not as great as the first three PIL albums but second to none when it comes to punk’s post-punk bands. (I’ve course I’m biased because I love all the 70s Buzzcocks stuff)  Still making my way through Reynolds Rip It Up and Start Again but I don’t remember him mentioning it. Nor have I noticed people rediscovering it. So if you haven’t, here’s some of my favorite tracks from it. Starting with my favorite:

Oh, and if you don’t have spiral scratch, the spiral scratch demos, singles going steady and a different kind of tension– sort it out.

About HR

Deep in the adjunct crackhole.
This entry was posted in Esotericmusic and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Homosapien.

  1. Hah! The singer in my brother’s band used to have this rekkid. I remember going through his collection, a mere lad who had just read Jon Savage’s England’s Dreaming, and saying, “hey, isn’t this the guy from the Buzzcocks?”

    Do you know the Minimal Wave Tapes Vol. I? Very good comp of similar crude electronic post-punk.

  2. Jura says:

    DO YOU LIKE MAGAZINE?

    • HR says:

      When I converted all my Magazine lp’s to mp3’s I didn’t group by them by album, so I have a mass of unlabeled tunes, but I think I really like the first album and some tunes from the other ones. Like the Shelley album I haven’t listened to them for some time. Perhaps I will revisit them today.

      • Jura says:

        I bought the first album while in high school and totally fell in love with it. It wasn’t until about three months ago that I discovered Secondhand Daylight and The Correct Use of Soap. They’re different, but as far as I can tell, both great.

      • HR says:

        Unfortunately, it looks like I erased them at some point. Ill have to track them down and listen to them again.

    • First magazine album is awesome. That’s also the only one I own.

Leave a Reply

