The Philosophy of Walter Benjamin–This Weekend!!

I’ll be chairing a session at this weekend’s conference on “The Philosophy of Walter Benjamin.’ As is typical of me, I just started preparing. The timing practice is going all right, as are the drill sessions when I shout down imaginary trolls, (i’m sorry but most papers in academic conferences cannot be directly applied to class struggle) but I have 3,000 words to cut from when I introduce the papers. Another all-nighter is inevitable. I must also confess, I usually don’t understand what Benjamin or Benjaminians are talking about. (oh, Messianic Time) So y’all should come along and ask plenty of questions. It’s free too.
About HR

Deep in the adjunct crackhole.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Philosophy of Walter Benjamin–This Weekend!!

  1. “I usually don’t understand what Benjamin or Benjaminians are talking about”

    Then start here: http://www.amazon.com/Fire-Alarm-Reading-Benjamins-Concept/dp/1844670406/ref=sr_1_1?s=books&ie=UTF8&qid=1355537549&sr=1-1

    Löwy was my introduction to Benjamin (in an essay which appeared in his book “On Changing the World”, which Haymarket is going to reissue) , as was his comrade Enzo Traverso. These guys are fairly lucid and non-obscurantist.

Leave a Reply

