REASON DISPLACES ALL LOVE: Libidinal Economising in the NEP-era Soviet Union

Most excellent paper on NEP sex policies, Freud, Rubin and Cheese.

About HR

Deep in the adjunct crackhole.
This entry was posted in Sunday Reading. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to REASON DISPLACES ALL LOVE: Libidinal Economising in the NEP-era Soviet Union

  1. Anjie Zheng says:

    I’ll read this once I have a moment after the term at CUNY ends, but…. I gotta say, the topic sounds exotic and tantalizing. Kind of like the topics I see for social science/humanities papers in my own experience. I blame postmodernism (bad joke, I know), on which Michael Rectenwald writes an apt obituary: http://insurgentnotes.com/2013/03/postmodernism-the-academic-left-and-the-crisis-of-capitalism/

  2. Anjie Zheng says:

    Thank God! 🙂

  3. CB says:

    Is insurgentnotes an academic journal, i.e., would it count toward my CV if I was published there?

  4. Android. says:

    I guess you could include it in your CV if you wanted. I have seen similar publications included in CVs. But it is not an academic journal.

  5. CB says:

    Any recommendations for a Marxist graduate philosophy student to aim to publish in?

  6. Anjie Zheng says:

    Agree with Android.

    Insurgent Notes not an academic journal, more like “high-brow journalism,” in Loren Goldner’s words. I should note that neither Goldner nor John Garvey (nor S. Artesian, when he was with IN) intended on IN to be an academic journal.

  7. Anjie Zheng says:

    * Insurgent Notes [is] not an academic journal […]

  8. Android. says:

    CB: as far as getting published goes only things that spring to mind would be Radical Philosophy and Marx & Philosophy Review of Books. Out of curiosity, what’s your postgrad stuff on?

    A.Z.: that was my impression too from chatting with IN (and ex-IN) types. I think they may also have had notion of it being basis for a group to develop out of. Could be wrong though on that.

    • Anjie Zheng says:

      Hey Android,

      Not wrong at all. You’re absolutely correct that IN was also meant to be a political agitational/activist/organizing group with more/less left-communist perspectives. But as things stand, IN remains a small group that publishes an online journal.

      Full disclosure: Loren’s a friend and I can’t count the number of times he’s lamented about IN’s ability (or lack thereof) to make political interventions.

  9. CB says:

    I am a graduate student working on a masters. I wrote my undergrad honors thesis on marx and human nature. I have a publication in marx and philosophy review of books, and I’m writing a second publication for them now. But I figure I can’t make my CV tons of marx and philosophy review of books only. So I’m going to stop at 2, and work in other directions.

Leave a Reply

